chi
blog
Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 12.39.50
January 15, 2016
Gluten free

In the last few years the awareness of the negative health effect of gluten has increased. You might have seen a lot people  on gluten free diet. Don’t worry if you are little bit lost? First let’s understand what is gluten? Gluten is a protein found in several types of grains such as wheat, spelt, rye and barley. When flour is mixed with water, you obtain a sticky glue linked that gives elasticity to the dough. This sticky glue is the gluten! So now let’s see how bad it is to eat gluten.

Screen Shot 2016-01-14 at 14.43.04

Why should we go gluten free?

There are some studies  showing that even the individuals without celiac disease or diagnosed gluten sensitivity have adverse reactions to gluten. The gluten can occur  some digestive pain, bloating, stool inconsistency and fatigue. Also they are many people who believe that gluten may be addictive, whet is one of the most addictive foods after sugar.

The health benefits to go gluten free are: 

  • Improved digestion and digestive function – a crucial aspect of effective weight loss is a healthy & efficient digestive system.
  • Excess fluid loss, and weight loss
  • Increased energy
  • Better bowel function and elimination
  • Improved mental function and better mood
  • Less cravings

How should we go gluten free?

Now you know why you should exclude the gluten from your diet, it’s time to see what you can eat. All the foods from grains are appropriate for a gluten free diet:

  • Corn in all forms
  • Plain rice in all forms
  • Amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat, cassava, flax, millet, quinoa, sorghum, soy, tapioca and teff.
  • Flours made from gluten-free grain, nuts, beans and coconut.

Look for products labeled gluten-free

  • Milk, butter, margarine, real cheese, plain yogurt, most ice cream without gluten-containing add-ins.
  • Vegetable oils, including canola.
  • Plain fruits, vegetables (fresh, frozen and canned), meat, seafood, potatoes, eggs, nuts, nut butters, beans and legumes.
  • Distilled vinegar is gluten free. (See malt vinegar under NO below).
  • Distilled alcoholic beverages are gluten free because distillation effectively removes gluten. They are not gluten free if gluten-containing ingredients are added after distillation, but this rarely happens.
  • Mono and diglycerides are fats and are gluten free.

The food  to avoid:

  • Most ingredients with “wheat” 
  • Barley and malt
  • Rye
  • Breaded or floured
  •  Soy and teriyaki sauces.
  • Foods that are fried in the same oil as breaded products are not considered to be safe on the gluten free diet.
  • Liquorice, which is made with wheat flour, and other candies that contain wheat or barley.

 

img
matchatitle picture
May 16, 2017
Matcha Tea is good for you!

Coconut water lovers and Matcha tea lovers, we’ve got what you were waiting for! Chi has created the UK’s first 100% raw coconut water from Nam Hom…

img
img
Raw Drinks
February 7, 2017
Chi fundraise with Crowdcube!

 Today is your opportunity to own shares in your favourite coconut brand with Crowdcube! Are you a lover of the most natural, organic and innovative…

img
img
whats-on-header
October 28, 2016
What’s on in November

Bonfire Night Fireworks displays are happening all around London that are not to be missed! Check a full list here. Ice Skating Somerset House  …

img
img